Engineering Senior Design Contacts

All engineering departments at NC State have capstone design courses for their seniors. These courses typically involve small teams of students working on sponsored real-world projects. Below is a list of key contacts in the engineering departments for those interested in sponsoring a senior design team project. There are also links to departmental senior design websites.

ECE 485 senior works on the In-Flight Blade Inspection System project for NAVAIR.

Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering (BAE) in College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Dr. Mike Boyette
Philip Morris Professor
boyette@ncsu.edu
919.515.6790

and

Dr. Mari Chinn
Professor
mschinn@ncsu.edu
919.515.6744

BAE Senior Design

Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (CBE)

Dr. Lisa Bullard
Teaching Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
lisa_bullard@ncsu.edu
919.515.7455
CBE Senior Design

Department of Computer Science (CSC)

Ms. Margaret Heil
Lecturer
Director of the Senior Design Center
heil@ncsu.edu
919.515.6020
CSC Senior Design Center

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE)

Mr. Bobby Compton
Senior Lecturer
Director of ECE Senior Design
blcompto@ncsu.edu
919.515.8740
ECE Senior Design

Department of Forest Biomaterials in the College of Natural Resources

Dr. Med Byrd
Associate Teaching Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator for the Paper Science and Engineering program
medbyrd@ncsu.edu
919.515.5790
Senior Design and Making Paper

Edward P. Fitts Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering (ISE)

Dr. Kanton Reynolds
Associate Teaching Professor
Director of Undergraduate Programs
ktreyno2@ncsu.edu
919.515.0605
ISE Engineering Design

Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE)

Dr. Maury Balik
Professor
balik@ncsu.edu
919.515.2126
MSE Senior Design

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE)

Dr. Chau Tran
Teaching Associate Professor
Senior Design Course Coordinator
cmtran@ncsu.edu
919.515.3025
MAE Senior Design

Note: Starting in 2019-20, the ME capstone senior design project is a year-long project spanning over two courses, MAE 415 and MAE 416.

Department of Nuclear Engineering (NE)

Dr. Mohamed Bourham
Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor of Nuclear Engineering
Director of College of Engineering Master of Engineering Program
Senior Design Coordinator
bourham@ncsu.edu
919.515.7662
NE Senior Design

Department of Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science (TECS) in College of Textiles

Dr. Russell Gorga
Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Programs
Co-director of the Textile Engineering and Textile Technology Senior Design Capstone Program
regorga@ncsu.edu
919.515.6553

and

Dr. Jesse Jur
Associate Professor
Co-Director of the Textile Engineering and Textile Technology Senior Design Capstone Program
jsjur@ncsu.edu
919.515.1676
TECS Senior Design