Departments

Engineering degrees are offered through nine academic departments in the College of Engineering and three departments in other colleges. The Golden LEAF Biomanufacturing Training and Education Center, Integrated Manufacturing Systems Engineering Institute, Operations Research, Engineering Online and two site-based programs also offer engineering degrees. Select a department below to display its profile.

Students participate in Dr. Andrew DiMeo's Biomedical Engineering Senior Design class in Engineering Building III on Centennial Campus.

Nine Academic Departments in the College of Engineering

Student examines a rehabilitation device in the Power (GAIT) Lab in EB III.

Student examines a rehabilitation device in the Power (GAIT) Lab in EB III.

The joint Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME) is co-located at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and NC State University, linking the College of Engineering at NC State to the School of Medicine and College of Arts and Sciences at UNC-CH.

Dr. Nancy L. Allbritton
Professor and Head
Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME)
4130 Engineering Building III
Campus Box 7115
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695
919.515.0724
nlallbri@ncsu.edu

Administrative Manager
Rekha Balasubramanyam
919.513.7622, srbalasu@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Programs
Dr. Lianne Cartee
919.515.6726, lacartee@ncsu.edu

Director of Graduate Studies
Dr. Caterina Gallippi
919.843.6647, cmgallip@email.unc.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering

Visit the BME department

Student works in the chemical and biomolecular engineering lab of Dr. Michael Dickey, who studies the unique characteristics of materials to develop novel applications, such as soft and flexible antennas made out of gallium.

Student works in the chemical and biomolecular engineering lab of Dr. Michael Dickey, who studies the unique characteristics of materials to develop novel applications, such as soft and flexible antennas made out of gallium.

Dr. Peter S. Fedkiw
Professor and Head
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (CBE)
2006A Engineering Building I
Campus Box 7905
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7905
919.515.3572

Business Officer
Christiana Boyle, 919.515.6391, christiana_boyle@ncsu.edu

Associate Head
Dr. Jan Genzer, 919.515.2069, jan_genzer@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies and Coordinator of Advising
Dr. Lisa Bullard, 919.515.7455, lisa_bullard@ncsu.edu

Director of Graduate Program
Dr. Saad Khan, 919.515.4519, khan@ncsu.edu

Director of Alumni Relations
Russ O’Dell, 919.513.2071, russ_odell@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering

Distance education degree offered: M.S. in Chemical Engineering

Visit the CBE department

Dr. Cassie Castorena and Ph.D. student Kangjin Lee examine a chip seal used for pavement preservation.

Dr. Cassie Castorena and Ph.D. student Kangjin Lee examine a chip seal used for pavement preservation.

Dr. Morton A. Barlaz
Distinguished University Professor and Head
Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering (CCEE)
208 Mann Hall
Campus Box 7908
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7908
919.515.7212

Assistant to the Department Head
Annette Maynard
919.515.7212, amaynard@ncsu.edu

Director of Finance and Administration
Ginger McGlamery
919.515.3329, ginger_mcglamery@ncsu.edu

Associate Head for Undergraduate Programs
Dr. Rudi Seracino
919.515.7695, rudi_seracino@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Programs and Coordinator of Advising
Dr. Tarek Aziz
919.515.1562, tnaziz@ncsu.edu

Associate Head and Director of Graduate Programs
Dr. Ranji S. Ranjithan
919.515.6979, ranji@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S., M.C.E. and Ph.D. in Civil Engineering; B.S. in Construction Engineering; B.S., M.S. and M.E.N.E. in Environmental Engineering

Distance education degrees offered: Master of Civil Engineering (M.C.E.) and Master of Environmental Engineering (M.E.N.E.)

Visit the CCEE department

IC-Crime project uses digital gaming technology to solve crimes.

IC-Crime project uses digital gaming technology to solve crimes.

Dr. Laurie Williams
Professor and Interim Head
Department of Computer Science (CSC)
3308 Engineering Building II
Campus Box 8206
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-8206
919.513.4151

Administrative Manager
Linda Honeycutt
919.515.7926, lshoneyc@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Programs
Dr. Dennis R. Bahler
919.515.3369, bahler@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Advising
Dr. Barbara Adams
919.513.7888, barbara_adams@ncsu.edu

Director of Graduate Programs
Dr. George N. Rouskas
919.515.3860, rouskas@ncsu.edu

Director of Development and External Relations
Ken Tate
919.513.4292, kmtate2@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S. and PhD in Computer Science; Master of Computer Science; M.S. in Computer Networking

Distance education degrees offered: Master of Computer Science and M.S. in Computer Networking

Visit the CSC department

Researchers at North Carolina State University have developed a new design for harvesting body heat and converting it into electricity for use in wearable electronics. Pictured are a thermoelectric generator (TEG) armband (right) and a TEG-embedded T-shirt (left).

Thermoelectric generators harvest body heat for use in wearable electronics.

Dr. Daniel Stancil
Professor and Head
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE)
3098 Engineering Building II
Campus Box 7911
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7911
919.513.3606

Executive Assistant to the Department Head
Jan Brock
919.515.2067, jfbright@ncsu.edu

Director of Finance and Administration
Pete Burke
919.515.5085, pmburke@ncsu.edu

Associate Head
Dr. Gregory T. Byrd
919.513.2508, gbyrd@ncsu.edu

Coordinator of Undergraduate Programs and Advising
Cecilia W. Townsend
919.515.5087, cwt@ncsu.edu

Director of Graduate Programs
Dr. Paul Franzon
919.515.5091, paulf@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Computer Engineering; B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering; M.S. in Computer Networking; M.S. in Electric Power Systems Engineering

Distance education degrees offered: M.S. in Computer Engineering, M.S. in Electrical Engineering, M.S. in Computer Networking and M.S. in Electric Power Systems Engineering

Visit the ECE department

Dr. Dave Kaber looks over a graduate student's shoulder as they test a flight simulator in the ISE department.

Dr. Dave Kaber looks over a graduate student's shoulder as they test a flight simulator in the ISE department.

Dr. Paul H. Cohen
Professor and Head
Edward P. Fitts Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering (ISE)
400B Daniels Hall
Campus Box 7906
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7906
919.515.2362

Questions? Contact:
ise@ncsu.edu

Business Officer
Debbie Allgood-Staton
919.515.6401, debbie_allgood@ncsu.edu

Interim Director of Undergraduate Programs
Jason Low
919.515.1424, jclow@ncsu.edu

Directors of the Graduate Program
Dr. Yahya Fathi
919.515.6417, fathi@ncsu.edu
Dr. Michael Kay
919.515.2008, kay@ncsu.edu

Executive Director of the Ergonomics Center
W. Tim McGlothlin
919.515.8135, mcglothlin@theergonomicscenter.com

Co-Directors of the Center for Additive Manufacturing and Logistics
Dr. Ola Harrysson
919.513.0220, oaharrys@ncsu.edu
Dr. Russell King
919.515.5186, king@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.I.E., M.S. and Ph.D. in Industrial Engineering

Distance education degree offered: Master of Industrial Engineering

Visit the ISE department

Dr. Jay Narayan works with a graduate student in his lab in the MSE department. Dr. Narayan has created a new form of carbon that can be converted to diamond at room temperature.

Dr. Jay Narayan works with a graduate student in his lab in the MSE department. Dr. Narayan has created a new form of carbon that can be converted to diamond at room temperature.

Dr. Justin Schwartz
Kobe Steel Distinguished Professor and Head
Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE)
3010 Engineering Building I
Campus Box 7907
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7907
919.515.0493

Executive Assistant to the Department Head
Maizie Woodall
919.515.2378, mewooda4@ncsu.edu

Administrative Support Associate
Mary Ann Lofgren
919.515.0386, maryann_lofgren@ncsu.edu

Accounting Technician
Paola Cavaliere
919.515.2377, picavali@ncsu.edu

Business Officer
Meghan Johnston
919.515.7056, meghan_johnston@ncsu.edu

Kobe Steel Distinguished Professor and Associate Head
Dr. Donald Brenner
919.515.1338, brenner@ncsu.edu

Director of the Undergraduate Program
Dr. Cheryl Cass
919.515.2479, cheryl_cass@ncsu.edu

Director of the Graduate Program
Dr. Elizabeth Dickey
919.515.3920, ecdickey@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering

Distance education degree offered: Master of Materials Science and Engineering and M.S. in NanoEngineering

Visit the MSE department

Students work on an EcoPRT car. The EcoPRT (ecological personal rapid transit) is an ultra-light and low-cost transit system featuring autonomous two-person cars that would drive on a guideway railing system.

Students work on an EcoPRT car. The EcoPRT (ecological personal rapid transit) is an ultra-light and low-cost transit system featuring autonomous two-person cars that would drive on a guideway railing system.

Dr. Richard D. Gould
Professor and Head
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE)
3114 Engineering Building III
Campus Box 7910
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7910
919.515.2368

Executive Assistant
Jill Whitfield
919.515.2368, jnwhitfi@ncsu.edu

Undergraduate Programs

Associate Head and Director of Undergraduate Programs
Dr. Jack Edwards
919.515.5264, jredward@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Student Affairs
Dr. Jeffrey Eischen
919.515.5263, eischen@ncsu.edu

Administrative Support, Undergraduate Program Questions
Katlyn Taylor
919.515.3241, katlyn_taylor@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Advising
Mrs. Cheryl Tran
919.513.7687, cheryl_tran@ncsu.edu

Graduate Programs

Associate Head and Director of Graduate Programs
Dr. Paul Ro
919.515.5235, ro@ncsu.edu

Graduate Services Coordinator
Julia McLean
919.515.1810, jamclea3@ncsu.edu

Development

Director of Development
Michael Walsh
919.515.7237, mpwalsh2@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering; B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering

Distance education degrees offered: M.S. in Aerospace Engineering and M.S. in Mechanical Engineering

Visit the MAE department

Nuclear engineering student checks on plasma experiment.

Nuclear engineering student checks on plasma experiment.

Dr. Kostadin Ivanov
Professor and Head
Department of Nuclear Engineering (NE)
3141 Burlington Nuclear Engineering Labs
Campus Box 7909
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7909
919.515.1466 (tel), 919.515.5115 (fax), knivanov@ncsu.edu

Business Officer
Stefanie E. Keto
919.515.1463, seketo@ncsu.edu

Undergraduate Administrator
Dr. J. Michael Doster
919.515.3658, doster@ncsu.edu

Director of Outreach Programs and Coordinator of Undergraduate Advising
Ms. Lisa Marshall
919.515.5876, lisa.marshall@ncsu.edu

Director of Graduate Programs
Dr. K. L. Murty
919.515.3657, murty@ncsu.edu

Assistant Director for Graduate Student Activities
Mr. Mario Milev
919.515.3937, mlmilev@ncsu.edu

Director of Nuclear Reactor Program
Dr. Ayman Hawari
919.515.4598, ayman.hawari@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Nuclear Engineering; Accelerated ABM (5-year program earning both a B.S. and an M.S. in Nuclear Engineering); Master of Nuclear Engineering (M.N.E.)

Distance education degree offered: Master of Nuclear Engineering (M.N.E.)

Visit the NE department

Three Academic Departments in Other Colleges

Dr. Praveen Kolar explains to doctoral student Yiying Zhu selective adsorption of p-cresol on biochar.

Dr. Praveen Kolar explains to doctoral student Yiying Zhu selective adsorption of p-cresol on biochar.

The Biological Engineering (BE) degree program is offered in the Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, an affiliated department administered by the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS).

Dr. Garey A. Fox, P.E., D.WRE
Professor and Head
Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering (BAE)
104 D. S. Weaver Labs
Campus Box 7625
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7625
919.515.6700

Business Services Coordinator
Lacy Parrish
919.515.6701, lacy_parrish@ncsu.edu

Associate Department Head and Undergraduate Coordinator
Dr. Andrew Hale
919.515.6760, andy_hale@ncsu.edu

Director of Graduate Programs
Dr. John J. Classen
919.515.6755, classen@ncsu.edu

Engineering degrees offered: B.S. in Biological Engineering and M.S. and Ph.D. in Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Distance education degree offered: Master of Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Visit the BAE department

Student Nelessa Lewis inspects paper at The Robertson Pulp and Paper Laboratory.

Student Nelessa Lewis inspects paper at The Robertson Pulp and Paper Laboratory.

The Paper Science and Engineering (PSE) degree program is offered in the Department of Forest Biomaterials (FB), an affiliated department administered by the College of Natural Resources (CNR).

Marko Hakovirta
Professor and Head
Department of Forest Biomaterials
2105-B Biltmore Hall
Campus Box 8005
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-8005
919.515.5970, marko_hakovirta@ncsu.edu

Coordinator for Undergraduate Advising
Dr. Medwick Byrd
919.515.5790, med_byrd@ncsu.edu

Undergraduate Coordinator for Paper Science and Engineering
Dr. Medwick Byrd
919.515.5790, med_byrd@ncsu.edu

Engineering degree offered: B.S. in Paper Science and Engineering

Visit the FB department

Students test protective clothing in the Textile Protection And Comfort Center (TPACC).

Students test protective clothing in the Textile Protection And Comfort Center (TPACC).

The Textile Engineering (TE) degree program is offered in the Department of Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science, an affiliated department administered by the College of Textiles (COT).

Dr. Jeff A. Joines
Professor and Head
Department of Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science (TECS)
College of Textiles
1020 Main Campus Drive
Campus Box 8301
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27606-8301
919).513.4188, jjoine@ncsu.edu

Executive Assistant
Kisha Patterson
919.515.6638, lypatter@ncsu.edu

Associate Head, Director of Undergraduate Programs
Dr. Russell E. Gorga
919.515.6553, regorga@ncsu.edu

Associate Head, Director of Graduate Programs
Dr. Melissa A. Pasquinelli
919.515.9426, Melissa_Pasquinelli@ncsu.edu

Director of Undergraduate Advising and Admissions
Liz Moran
919.515.0030
ecmoran@ncsu.edu

Director of Textile Engineering
Dr. Warren Jasper
919.515.6565, wjasper@ncsu.edu

Engineering degrees offered: B.S. and M.S. in Textile Engineering

Visit the TECS department

Multidisciplinary Programs Offering Engineering Degrees

A unique, cross-disciplinary instructional center, the Golden LEAF Biomanufacturing Training and Education Center (BTEC) provides educational and training opportunities to develop skilled professionals for the biomanufacturing industry.

Dr. Ruben Carbonell
Frank Hawkins Kenan Distinguished Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at NC State and Director of the Golden LEAF Biomanufacturing Training and Education Center (BTEC)
850 Oval Drive
Campus Box 7928
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7928
919.513.2000
btecinfo@lists.ncsu.edu

Associate Director, Academic Programs
Dr. Michael Flickinger
919.515.0175, michael_flickinger@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: M.S. in Biomanufacturing and a Master of Biomanufacturing (MR)

Visit BTEC

The Integrated Manufacturing Systems Engineering Institute’s graduate degree programs are multidisciplinary, drawing on faculty in a number of departments and colleges at NC State.

Dr. Steven D. Jackson
Director and DGP
Integrated Manufacturing Systems Engineering Institute (IMSEI)
311 Daniels Hall
Campus Box 7915
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7915
919.515.3808 (Tel)
919.515.1675 (Fax)
sdjackso@ncsu.edu

Administrative Support Specialist
Bill Irwin
919.515.3808, wjirwin@ncsu.edu

Degree offered: Master of Integrated Manufacturing Systems Engineering

Distance education degree offered: Master of Integrated Manufacturing Systems Engineering

Visit IMSEI

Operations Research’s graduate degree programs are multidisciplinary, drawing on faculty in a number of departments and colleges at NC State.

Dr. Michael G. Kay
Co-director of Operations Research and Associate Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering
Operations Research Graduate Program
2152 Burlington Nuclear Labs
Campus Box 7913
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695
919.515.2350

Co-director
Dr. Negash Medhin
919.513.3585, ngmedhin@math.ncsu.edu

Executive Assistant
Linda Smith
919.515.2350, linda_smith@ncsu.edu

Degrees offered: M.S. in Operations Research, Master of Operations Research (M.O.R.) and Ph.D. in Operations Research

Visit OR

Distance Education and Site-Based Engineering Programs

Engineering Online, our distance education program, and two site-based engineering programs also offer engineering degrees. The two site-based programs do not require you to move to NC State University in Raleigh, but they do require you to be at the respective sites.

The Master of Biological and Agricultural Engineering degree is offered through NC State’s Online and Distance Education programs.

Cross-Disciplinary Thrust Areas

Our academic departments are organized by engineering disciplines, but our faculty and students also benefit from our emphasis on key cross-disciplinary thrust areas.

Thrust Areas

Bioengineering

Nanotechnology*

Information and communications technology

Critical infrastructure

Transportation and logistics