Skip to main content

Department of Nuclear Engineering

Memorial Belltower lit red

May 9, 2024

Engineering faculty members among those recognized for excellence

The Celebration of Faculty Excellence is held each spring to recognize outstanding faculty who have received prestigious state, national and international awards, accolades or other distinctions during this academic year. This year, NC State honored 41 faculty members during the 2024 Celebration of Faculty Excellence on April 30. 

Dina Osama Elsayed Elgewaily in front of a large nuclear engineering display.

May 8, 2024

Ph.D. student develops AI technology to better support NE research

Dina Osama Elsayed Elgewaily has plenty of advice for incoming Ph.D. students getting a degree in nuclear engineering. 

Holladay medal

Apr 4, 2024

Murty and Williams win Holladay Medal

Two College of Engineering faculty members are among the four North Carolina State University professors this year to receive the Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence, the highest honor bestowed by NC State and the university’s Board of Trustees.  

NC State gateway at sunset

Mar 26, 2024

Palmtag wins NC State Outstanding Teacher Award

The Provost’s Award for Excellence in Teaching is the most prestigious award for exceptional teaching given to professional full-time faculty from among NC State’s 10 colleges and the University College. The award was established in 2021 to underscore the importance of teaching and to encourage, identify, recognize, reward, and support teaching within the university. 

From left: Steven Shannon, Amanda Lietz and Florian Laggner are leading a DOE grant that funds the development of new and sustainable designs for neutral beam sources.

Jan 19, 2024

DOE grant brings renewed energy to NC State COE in more ways than one

Nothing energizes the engineering community like fusion. Scientists have seen fusion startups crop up around the country in recent years as fusion becomes less of an experimental, fundamental science program and more of an energy program. 

Caleby Jolly dressed in a red short-sleeved shirt and khaki pants, flashes the Wolfpack sign while standing on catwalk at Talley Student Union.

Dec 19, 2023

ME grad is ready to make the world a greener place

Unlike so many college students, Caleb Jolley, mechanical engineering ‘23, always knew he wanted to go into engineering. He just wasn’t quite sure what that looked like. 

NC State gateway at sunset

Oct 23, 2023

Yang named Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry

Dr. Ge Yang, Professor of Nuclear Engineering at North Carolina State University, has been named Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC). This prestigious designation is presented to senior scientists/professionals whose invaluable experience, expertise and commitment promote the value of chemical science. 

Seated at several long tables, attendees of the The Hunt Library-hosted DENT 2023 conference on Sept. 20, listen to a speaker presentation.

Oct 19, 2023

The Libraries hosts Digital Engineering in Nuclear Technology conference

Nuclear reactor stakeholders gathered for an interdisciplinary discussion in September at the Hunt Library. 

From left: Amanda Lietz,, Florian Laggner and Steve Shannon pose for group photo outside with green-leaved trees in background.

Oct 4, 2023

DOE grant brings renewed energy to NC State COE in more ways than one

An NC State team was awarded a $2.1 million Department Of Energy grant, which comes at an exciting time for fusion research. Several experimental facilities around the world have set new operations records recently, and the fusion effort has also benefited from an infusion of early-stage venture funding from the private sector.