Skip to main content

Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Bronze wolf statue profiled against backdrop of yellow autumn leaves.

Sep 21, 2022

Yaroslava Yingling named Kobe Steel Distinguished Professor

The professorship was established 34 years ago at a ceremony at NC State University on March 14, 1988. This partnership for university distinction was formed by a group of NC State College of Engineering faculty and private sector partners, including former MSE department head John Hren and former president of Kobe Development Corporation Mr. S. Yano.  

Graphic showing circle with circular nodes around a center illustration of gallium nitride.

Sep 7, 2022

Researchers demonstrate new, more energy-efficient devices using gallium nitride

The devices are made possible by a unique technique for “doping” gallium nitride in a controlled way. 

In this photo, the top of the Belltower is framed by fall foliage.

Sep 6, 2022

Veronica Augustyn named inaugural Jake and Jennifer Hooks Distinguished Scholar

RALEIGH, N.C.– Professor Veronica Augustyn was named the inaugural Jake and Jennifer Hooks Distinguished Scholar in Materials Science and Engineering, effective September 1, 2022. “I… 

Computerized model of spheres and bars connected to each other with burst of energy in the center of the framework.

Sep 2, 2022

Computational model could speed development of semiconductors useful in quantum applications

A computational model predicts how optical properties of semiconductor materials change when doped with other elements. 

Jul 15, 2022

Engineering a better summer camp

The department recently hosted a weeklong summer camp for rising juniors and seniors attending high schools across the United States. 

Electron micrograph of gold nanorods overcoated with iron oxide nanoparticles and aligned in a magnetic field.

Jun 23, 2022

Technique allows researchers to align gold nanorods with magnetic fields

A new technique allows researchers to align gold nanorods using magnetic fields, allowing greater control over their optical properties. 

Perry (fifth from left) with the E101 class in Prague.

Jun 21, 2022

MSE undergrad selected as Grand Challenges Scholar

The Department of Materials Science and Engineering is excited to announce Perry Berlin as a Grand Challenges Scholar! Perry is a second-year undergraduate in MSE and joins an elite association of high-achieving engineering students across the nation who are working together to face the Grand Challenges of Engineering in the 21st century. 

Aerial view of the College of Engineering and the Oval.

May 20, 2022

COE community bands together to support students and research

Alumni, faculty members, staff, students and friends of the College of Engineering came together to show their support and help the College of Engineering (COE) write its next chapter on Day of Giving on March 23, raising $1,504,048 from 1,443 gifts. 

Group of NC State students pose together in front of Alaskan waterfall.

May 17, 2022

Graduate student participates in an Alternative Service Break and shares her love for science in Alaska

These experiences will make my Alternative Service Break was one I will never forget. Not only did I rediscover my passion for being a STEM educator and reclaim my power in making a positive impact, but I also became more confident in my own identity as a first-generation American scientist. 

The NC State Belltower against a blue sky, with flowering trees in the foreground

May 12, 2022

Roger Narayan elected 2022 MRS Fellow

Professor Roger Narayan, MD, PhD, Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering at NC State and UNC Chapel Hill, has been elected a fellow of the Materials Research Society (MRS).