Skip to main content
Awards and Honors

Marshall named president-elect of American Nuclear Society

The NC State Belltower at dusk and night.

Lisa Marshall, director of outreach, retention, and engagement and an assistant extension professor and advisor in the Department of Nuclear Engineering at NC State, has been named as vice president and president-elect of the American Nuclear Society (ANS).

Lisa Marshall
Lisa Marshall

“We are a Society of excellence, and I am devoted to leading us further with passion, vigor, and purpose through recruitment, retention, and collaboration nationally and internationally,” Marshall said. “People are our most valuable resource. We impact energy and nonenergy industries in crucial ways and must continually develop and lead efforts that are transformational.”

Marshall will succeed current ANS vice president/president-elect Ken Petersen, who will assume the office of president following the ANS annual meeting in June. The current president, Steven Arndt, will remain on the board for a one-year term as immediate past president.

Marshall will be the first black woman to hold the position in the organization’s history. She is the second black person to ever lead ANS, following in the footsteps of Ernest Wilkins, Jr., Ph.D., who served as president in 1974 and 1975.

In her candidacy statement, Marshall noted her 20-plus years of experience with people, policies and products. “I am a collaborative leader and educator with experience empowering careers, communicating our mission and contributing to the multidisciplinary nature of this field. Our most valuable resources are people and authentic public engagement,” Marshall said. “My record shows a commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion—mentoring and advocating for students and young professionals, creating spaces for people and new ways of thinking.”

Marshall has been a member of ANS since 2005. She was honored by the organization with a presidential citation and with the ANS Social Responsibility in the Nuclear Community Award as one of the founders of the organization’s Diversity and Inclusion in ANS Committee, both in 2022. 

ANS is the premier organization for those that embrace the nuclear sciences and technologies for their vital contributions to improving people’s lives and preserving the planet.

ANS membership is open to all and consists of individuals from all walks of life, including engineers, doctors, students, educators, scientists, soldiers, advocates, government employees, and others. Celebrating its 70th anniversary in 2024, ANS is committed to advancing, fostering, and promoting the development and application of nuclear sciences and technologies to benefit society.