Skip to main content

Two BME faculty honored with the 2022 University Teaching Awards

BME Associate Professor Jason Franz and Teaching Associate Professor Devin K. Hubbard are among the 25 faculty members and teaching assistants honored with the 2022 University Teaching Awards. Given annually by the Center for Faculty Excellence, the awards acknowledge the University’s commitment to outstanding teaching and mentoring of graduate and undergraduate students.

Jason Franz

This year’s winners were chosen from more than 800 nominations in six different categories. Associate Professor Jason Franz has received the 2022 Chapman Family Teaching Award, established in 1993 to honor the distinguished teaching of undergraduate students. He will receive $30,000 to be used over a period of 5 years. ​Teaching Associate Professor Devin K. Hubbard has received the William C. Friday Award for Excellence in Teaching, with a stipend of $5,000. Created by members of the 1986 graduating class, the award recognizes members of the faculty who exemplified excellence in inspirational teaching.

Devin Hubbard

Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Robert A. Blouin praised the awardees’ commitment and dedication to teaching: “Even as the pandemic continued, faculty remained resilient and dedicated to teaching, continuously supporting students through challenging times and maintaining research interests. And in the fall of 2021, they transitioned from remote teaching to return to the classroom for in-person instruction. I am proud of their accomplishments and grateful for their perseverance. They are richly deserving of this recognition.” Congrats to Prof Jason and Devin on this well-deserved recognition and dedication to teaching

For the official announcement, you can visit Carolina’s news website here.

This post was originally published in Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering.