Skip to main content

Eighteen College of Engineering students named NSF Graduate Research Fellows

Wolf Hands

Eighteen students from the College of Engineering at NC State have been named recipients of the prestigious National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Fellowship.

The NSF Graduate Fellowship recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions.

The student recipients who have completed or will soon complete their undergraduate degrees at NC State are:

●      Shreyas Gopalarathnam Ashok, Aeronautical and Aerospace Engineering

●      Neil Baugh, Biomedical Engineering

●      Samuel Austin Blackman, Bioengineering

●      Zachary Gillette Davis, Biomedical Engineering

●      Sean Matthew Engels, Chemical Engineering; now at University of Texas at Austin

●      Megan Haase, Biomedical Engineering

●      Thomas Leonard, Electrical and Electronic Engineering; now at University of Texas at Austin

●      Carson Marie Key, Biomedical Engineering

●      Halen Mattison, Aeronautical and Aerospace Engineering

●      Nikki McArthur, Chemical Engineering; now at Georgia Institute of Technology

●      James Christopher Reed, Mechanical Engineering

●      Juliet Godfrey Simpson, Mechanical Engineering; now at University at Virginia

●      Marlee Strong, Civil Engineering

●      Olivia Ann Wander, Materials Engineering

Listed below are the students who earned an undergraduate degree at another institution and have chosen to conduct graduate studies at NC State:

●      Joanna Adora Quiah, Environmental Engineering

●      Andrew Rocco, Mechanical Engineering

●      Natalie Von Tress, Environmental Engineering

●      Maura Vrabel, Biomedical Engineering

Fellows who are selected receive a three-year annual stipend of $34,000 along with a $12,000 cost of education allowance for tuition and fees (paid to the institution), opportunities for international research and professional development, and the freedom to conduct their own research at any accredited U.S. institution of graduate education they choose.