Faculty highlights

Huang receives award for young scientists and engineers

DR. Hsiao-Ying Shadow HuangDr. Hsiao-Ying Shadow Huang, associate professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, has been named a recipient of the 2019 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE).

The PECASE acknowledges the contributions made by scientists and engineers to the advancement of science, technology, engineering and mathematics education and to the community through scientific leadership, education and community outreach. Huang is the fourth faculty member in the College to receive the award.

Her research focuses on investigating degradation mechanisms in lithium battery materials via experimental, theoretical and computational approaches.

Bourham, DeCarolis and Montoya named Outstanding Teachers

Dr. Bourham, DeCarolis, and MontoyaThree faculty members in the College were recognized with Outstanding Teacher Awards for 2018-19.

Dr. Mohamed Bourham is an Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor of Nuclear Engineering; Dr. Joseph DeCarolis is an associate professor in the Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering (CCEE); and Dr. Brina Montoya is an assistant professor in CCEE.

The award recognizes excellence in teaching at all levels and is a prerequisite for being considered for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching and the Alumni Distinguished Professor Award. Recipients become members of the Academy of Outstanding Teachers for as long as they are NC State faculty members.

Martin-Vega named AAAS Fellow

Dr. Martin-VegaDr. Louis A. Martin-Vega, dean of the College, has been elected as a Fellow of the American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Fellows are nominated by their peers and are elected by the AAAS council, a policymaking body of the society, and elected for having shown “scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.”

Martin-Vega was recognized for his outstanding contributions to industrial and systems engineering, manufacturing, industrial innovation and engineering education, and for unconditional support for the advancement of Hispanic professionals.

He is one of eight active faculty members in the College who are AAAS Fellows.

Rabiei, Williams receive 2019 Alcoa Foundation Awards

Drs. Rabiei and WilliamsThe 2019 Alcoa Foundation Engineering Research Awards were presented to Dr. Afsaneh Rabiei, professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, and Dr. Cranos Williams, associate professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Rabiei received the Alcoa Foundation Distinguished Engineering Research Award, made to a senior faculty member for research achievements over a period of at least five years at NC State. Williams was awarded the Alcoa Foundation Engineering Research Achievement Award, which recognizes young faculty members who have accomplished outstanding research achievements during the preceding three years.

Rabiei is known internationally as a leader of research on composite metal foams, which as a lightweight material capable of high energy absorption has outstanding properties as armors, car bumpers and biomedical implants. Additionally, she has made unique contributions to her field through the development of multiple novel materials such as metallic bubble wraps and smart coatings for biomedical implants.

Williams is leading an interdisciplinary research effort merging plant sciences and engineering, single-handedly creating a new research discipline. His breakthrough research has led to the development of computational approaches that use high-throughput data to identify regulators of plant stress responses. His contributions have improved understanding of the interactions of biomolecular, physiological and structural processes that affect plant growth, development and adaptation.

Bitzer, Kim win Holladay Medal

Drs. Bitzer and KimDr. Donald Bitzer, Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Computer Science, and Dr. Youngsoo (Richard) Kim, Jimmy D. Clark Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering, received the Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence. Named for NC State’s first professor of history and its first president, the medal is the highest honor bestowed by NC State and the University’s Board of Trustees.

Bitzer’s scholarship focuses on computer systems, computer displays, data communications, voice analysis and genetics to amplify protein production. He is the inventor of plasma panel displays used for flat panel televisions. A member of the National Academy of Engineering, Bitzer received the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Emmy for Scientific Development and Technical Achievement for the development of plasma displays.

Kim’s research interests include the laboratory and field aspects of the performance evaluation of asphalt materials and pavements. He has received more than $18 million in research funding from national and international agencies and has published more than 300 papers in technical journals and proceedings.

Return to contents or download the Fall/Winter 2019 NC State Engineering magazine (PDF, 2.3MB).

Magazine Archives