Skip to main content

Bryant, de los Reyes, and Dietrich receive Outstanding Teaching Awards

MAE department head Dr. Srinath Ekkad accepts the award from Dean Louis Martin-Vega on Bryant’s behalf.
Dr. Srinath Ekkad (left), head of mechanical and aerospace engineering, accepts the award on Dr. Matthew Bryant's behalf from Dr. Louis Martin-Vega, dean of engineering.

Three faculty members in the College of Engineering at North Carolina State University received Outstanding Teacher Awards for 2017-18 at the College’s spring faculty meeting.

Dr. Matthew Bryant is an assistant professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE). Dr. Francis de los Reyes is a professor and University Faculty Scholar in the Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering (CCEE). Dr. Casey Dietrich is an assistant professor in the Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering.

The award recognizes excellence in teaching at all levels and is a prerequisite for being considered for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching and the Alumni Distinguished Professor Award. Recipients become members of the Academy of Outstanding Teachers for as long as they are NC State faculty members. Recognition is given at commencement, the Celebration of Academic Excellence and the Teaching and Learning Symposium.

Dr. Matthew Bryant

Dr. Matthew Bryant
Dr. Bryant

Bryant joined the NC State faculty in 2013. Bryant’s research seeks novel solutions and new devices that contribute to the advancement of emerging technologies in areas including ambient energy harvesting, fluid-structure interaction, and robot actuation and mobility. According to a colleague, he is one of the most impressive teaching faculty members in the MAE department and works tirelessly to develop and innovate courses. A student wrote in a review, “He was always enthusiastic and happy to answer questions. Even though it’s a tough class, I feel the most confident about this material than any other class, and it’s because of Dr. Bryant.”

Dr. Francis de los Reyes

Dr. Francis de los Reyes
Dr. de los Reyes

De los Reyes joined the NC State faculty in 2004. His research interests are in the areas of environmental engineering, water and wastewater treatment, environmental biotechnology and water, sanitation, and hygiene. His contributions to the department can be seen in his development of multiple courses, including a redesign of Fundamentals of Environmental Engineering with three peers, Water and Sanitation for Developing Regions course, Biological Principles of Environmental Engineering, and Environmental Bioprocess Technology. De los Reyes is highly regarded by his peers, as a fellow professor, said: “In all visits over the observation period, Dr. de los Reyes was well prepared for class and the class appeared to be very well engaged in the learning experience. Dr. de los Reyes used several techniques to facilitate class participation and attention including group problems during class, and discussion of relevant news articles.

Dr. Casey Dietrich

Dr. Casey Dietrich
Dr. Dietrich

Dietrich joined the NC State faculty in 2013. He develops computational models for wind waves and coastal circulation, and then applies these models to high-resolution simulations of ocean behavior. He has contributed to the teaching mission of the department with his teaching of required courses, restarting the department’s teaching and research program in coastal engineering and improving the teaching of fluid mechanics at all levels. A former student wrote: “Dr. Dietrich is a fantastic professor and organizes his class in a refreshing way. Everything is posted online and all one needs to do is fill in the work for the examples. He is clear and concise when presenting the material and values the opinions of all the students. He emphasizes group work, which is realistic in the real world.”

Bryant, de los Reyes and Dietrich were unable to attend the meeting. MAE department head Dr. Srinath Ekkad accepted the award on Bryant’s behalf. CCEE department head Dr. Morton Barlaz accepted the award on behalf of de los Reyes and Dietrich.