Skip to main content

Zikry wins R.J. Reynolds Award

Dr. Mohammed Zikry
Dr. Zikry

Dr. Mohammed Zikry, Zan Prevost Smith Distinguished Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, is the 31st recipient of the R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company Award for Excellence in Teaching, Research and Extension.

The award was established in 1981 within the College of Engineering to honor a member of the engineering faculty who has demonstrated superiority in several areas of activity that relate to the University’s three-fold mission of teaching, research and extension. The annual award is supported by the R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company through the NC State Engineering Foundation to recognize scientific and educational achievements in fields of engineering. The recipient is given a $25,000 prize distributed over five years.

Zikry’s work has led to his being internationally recognized as an expert in the area of computational mechanics and modeling and has led to the development of new three-dimensional dislocation-density-based crystalline constitutive formulations and computational schemes that account for microstructural effects, such as grain boundary orientations and distributions, grain-size, and slip impedance and transmission at grain boundary interfaces in polycrystalline aggregates.

Return to contents or download the Spring/Summer 2016 NC State Engineering magazine (PDF, 3MB).

Magazine Archives