Skip to main content

Nine NC State students awarded NEUP scholarships

Nine students from North Carolina State University’s Department of Nuclear Engineering have been awarded scholarships or fellowships through the United States Department of Energy’s Integrated University Program.

The Department of Energy is awarding $5 million for 41 undergraduate scholarships and 33 graduate fellowships to students in nuclear energy-related engineering and science programs at universities across the country. Through this program, undergraduates will receive a $5,000 scholarship, while fellowship winners will receive $50,000 annually over the next three years.

The graduate fellowships will also include $5,000 toward a summer internship at a U.S. national laboratory or other approved facility to strengthen the ties between students and the Department’s nuclear energy research programs. The selected students will study a breadth of critical nuclear energy issues, from fuel cycle sustainability to reactor efficiency and design.

Scholarship winners from NC State include:

Brandon Chisholm
William Dawn
Nina Sorrell
Travis Willis
Joseph Cambareri
Slaton Bitting

Fellowship winners from NC State include:

Ellen O’Brien
Jesse Jones
Konor Frick