NC State University
[ College of Engineering ]

[ News and Information ]

Bookmark and Share

June 7, 2001

College of Engineering Announces Spring Awards

The faculty awards for the academic year 2000-01 were announced at the College of Engineering (COE) spring faculty meeting.  Below are award highlights for the academic year.

Academic Affairs / Undergraduate Program

College of Engineering Programs for Minorities and Women received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring. Sarah Rajala, Tony L. Mitchell and Laura A. Bottomley were the recipients of this award.

The COE Outstanding College Performers Award was received at the 2001 Academic Affairs Freshman Honors Convocation.  More than 50 percent (45 of 87) had a GPA greater than 3.0.

Sarah Rajala – IEEE Fellow; Outstanding Engineering Educator for the IEEE Southeastern Section for 2001

Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Susan Blanchard – Outstanding Teacher Award

Crowell Bowers – Outstanding Teacher Award

Chemical Engineering

Ruben Carbonell – 2001 Alcoa Foundation Distinguished Engineering Research Award

Joe DeSimone – 2001 O. Max Gardner Award; Inventor of the Year Award; Governor’s Entrepreneurial Company of the Year Award; Esselen Award for Chemistry in the Public Interest

Jan Genzer – Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award for the year 2001

Christine Grant – Provost’s African American Professional Development Award for 2001; inducted into Science and Technology category of the 2000 YWCA Academy of Women

Keith Gubbins – 2000 William H. Walker Award of the AIChE

Jason Haugh – 2000 Camille and Henry Dreyfus New Faculty Award; Faculty Enhancement Award from ORAU

Saad Khan – Outstanding Teaching Award and membership in the Academy of Outstanding Teachers

Rich Spontak – Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professorship for year 2001-2003


Tomas Carbonell – 2001 Porter Award; Volunteer of the Year Award

Brian Novick – Keeping North Carolina Clean and Beautiful (KNCCB) Award

Catherine Ward – Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

Erik Welf – Morris K. Udall Scholarship

Seth Whitaker – Engineering Senior Award for Leadership

Civil Engineering

Morton Barlaz – Outstanding Paper – 7th International Waste Management and Landfill Symposium

Leonhard Bernold – Newsmaker 1999 Engineering News Record

Francis de los Reyes III – NSF Faculty Early Career Development (Career) Award

Joel Ducoste – Ralph Metcalfe Chair Award

Christopher Frey – Chauncey Starr Award

John Hanson – 1999 Forensic Engineer of the Year Award

David Johnston – Keynote Speaker, Bridge Engineering Conference 2000

Detlef Knappe – Young Civil Engineer Achievement Award; 2001 AWWA Water Science and Research Division Best Paper Award

Rooney Malcolm – Keynote Speaker, State Storm Water Conference

William Rasdorf – 2001 Computing in Civil Engineering Award

The Canoe Team is going to the Nationals

Computer Science and Engineering

Annie Anton – Elected to serve on IFIP Working Group on Software Requirements Engineering

Christopher Healey – NSF Career Development Award

Wenke Lee – North Carolina Networking Initiative Fellowship Award

James Lester – “Best Paper” Award from an international conference on educational multimedia

Margery Page – College of Engineering Award for Excellence, SPA

Munindar Singh – IBM Partnership Award

Mladen Vouk – IEEE Fellow

Peter Wurman – NSF Career Development Award

Michael Young – NSF Career Development Award

Electrical and Computer Engineering

B. Jayant Baliga – R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company Award for Excellence in Teaching, Research and Extension

Brian Hughes – NSF Award for a research project

Gianluca Lazzi – Biomedical Engineering Research Grant from Whitaker Foundation; NSF Early Career Faculty Development Award

Bob Kolbas – IEEE Fellow

Veena Misra – NSF Early Career Faculty Development Award; Professional Opportunities for Women in Research and Education Award

Paul Franzon – NCSU Outstanding Teacher for 2000-01; elected as new member of the NCSU Academy of Outstanding Teachers

Tony Mitchell – along with Sarah Rajala and Laura Bottomley, Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring for 2000

Sarah Rajala – IEEE Fellow; Outstanding Engineering Educator for the IEEE Southeastern Section for 2001; along with Tony Mitchell and Laura Bottomley, Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring for 2000

Arnold Reisman – Electrochemical Society Award in Solid State Science and Technology

Eric Rotenberg – NSF Early Career Faculty Development Award

Rudy Salas – College of Engineering Award for Excellence

Industrial Engineering

Denis Cormier – C. A. Anderson Outstanding Faculty Award

Tom Culbreth – Named to the NCSU Academy of Outstanding Faculty

Salah Elmaghraby – Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence

Shu-Cherng Fang – Advocacy Award from ACAAGS; Distinguished Service Award

Thom J. Hogdson – Elected to the National Academy of Engineering; Alumni Association Distinguished Graduate Professorship Award

Yuan-Shin Lee – Alcoa Foundation Engineering Research Achievement Award

Clarence Smith – NCSU Academy of Outstanding Faculty Engaged in Extension

Carolyn Sommerich – Industrial Engineering Educator Outstanding Paper Award


Laura Hughes, Julie Cunningham, and Emmanuel Hodge – IE Wolfpack Team one of five finalist teams to participate in the IIE/Rockwell Software Student Simulation Competition at the IIE Annual Conference in Dallas

Kristin Thoney – IIE/Pritsker Doctoral Dissertation Award (Third Place)

This is the fifth year in a row that the NCSU-IE department has had one of its PhD students win the IIE/Pritsker Doctoral Dissertation Award, and in four of those five years, Thom Hodgson or Rusty King separately or together advised the winning student.

Industrial Extension Service

Phillip Mintz – Outstanding Extension Awards

Deborah Porto – Outstanding Extension Awards

Information Technology and Engineering Computer Services

Ellen McDaniel – College of Engineering Award for Excellence, EPA

Materials and Science Engineering

Bob Davis – Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

Carl Koch – Elected Fellow of TMS

Mike Rigsbee – Elected Fellow of ASM International

Zlatko Sitar – ONR funded MURI Center for Studies of Bulk Crystal Grown of Group III Nitride Compound Semiconductors

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Greg Buckner – NSF Early Career Faculty Development Award

Tom Dow – MAE and BASF Corporation Award for scholarly accomplishments

Richard Gould – Outstanding Teacher Award

Eric Klang, – The George H. Blessis Teaching and Advising Award

Bill Roberts – MAE and BASF Corporation Award for scholarly accomplishments

Mohammed Zikry – Ralph Teetor Award – Society of Automotive Engineers

AIAA Student Chapter received the AIAA Regional Award for best senior design projects

ASME Student Chapter received the regional award for best presentation

Minerals Research Laboratory

William Fulp – Outstanding Earth Science Educator Award

Nuclear Engineering

Michael Doster – Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor

Operations Research

Emily Lada – Preparing for the Professoriate Award

Shona Morgan – Elmaghraby Distinguished Award; COE Academic Achievement Award

Textile Engineering

Jon Rust – Outstanding Teacher in the College


Sara Draper – Best Paper Award, Herman and Myrtle Goldstein Student Paper Competition

/ Awards Index / Awards Archives Index /

Engineering Communications
College of Engineering
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, North Carolina
Maintenance by