Graduate Studies

Nuclear Engineering graduate student shows undergrads equipment in Burlington lab.

Graduate students drive research in the College of Engineering at NC State. The College is known nationally for innovative graduate degree offerings, a world-renowned faculty and groundbreaking collaborative research initiatives. More than 2,900 students are enrolled in our 13 doctoral and 21 master’s degree programs.

NC State is the only engineering college in the nation leading two active National Science Foundation Engineering Research Centers, and graduate students play key roles in this important work. Our award-winning faculty stand among the best in the nation – 2 National Medal of Technology and Innovation recipients, 14 National Academy of Engineering members and 2 Directors of National Science Foundation Engineering Research Centers.

Graduate students work and study in the new James B. Hunt Jr. Library on Centennial Campus; gain valuable experience through teaching assistantships; and connect with future employers at the NC State Engineering Career Fair, one of the largest events of its kind in the nation. After graduation, our students go on to top-notch positions in industry, academia and research laboratories.

Departments and Key Contacts

Office of Research and Graduate Programs
Dr. John G. Gilligan, (919) 515-3939
Tracy Brown, (919) 515-3939
Dr. Douglas S. Reeves, engr-research@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-7089
Robyn Fillinger, engr-research@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-1818
Lori Kazura, (919) 515-2622, lgdann@ncsu.edu

Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Dr. John Classen, john_classen@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-6755
Heather Austin, heather_austin@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-6710

Biomedical Engineering
Dr. Shawn Gomez, bmegradstudies@gmail.com, (919) 966-4959
Vilma Berg, vgberg@ncsu.edu and vberg@email.unc.edu, (919) 513-7779 or (919) 966-8088

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Dr. Saad A. Khan, khan@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-4519
Sandra Bailey, sbailey@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-6367

Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering
Dr. Ranji S. Ranjithan, ranji@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-6979
Renee Howard, rhoward@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-7344

Computer Science
Dr. George N. Rouskas, rouskas@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-3860
Kathy Luca, kmluca@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-8662

Electrical and Computer Engineering
Dr. Paul Franzon, paulf@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-5091
Jennifer A. Raab, jaraab@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-5091

Industrial and Systems Engineering
Dr. Yahya Fathi, fathi@eos.ncsu.edu, (919) 515-6417
Cecilia Chen, cchen2@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-6410

Integrated Manufacturing Systems Engineering Institute (IMSEI)
Dr. Steven Jackson, steve_jackson@imsei.ncsu.edu, (919) 515-3808
Nancy Evans, nancy_evans@imsei.ncsu.edu, (919) 515-3808

Master of Engineering Program (PDF, 108 KB)*
Dr. Mohamed A. Bourham, bourham@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-7662
Robyn Fillinger, rfillin@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-1818
*The Master of Engineering degree is offered only
through distance education.

Materials Science and Engineering
Dr. Beth Dickey, ecdickey@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-3920
Edna Deas, edna_deas@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-3858

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Dr. Paul Ro, ro@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-5235
Angie Barefoot, angie_barefoot@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-1810

Nuclear Engineering
Dr. K. L. Murty, murty@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-3657
Ganga Atukorala, gkatukor@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-1463

Operations Research
Dr. Michael Kay, kay@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-2008
Linda Smith, linda_smith@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-2350

Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science
Dr. Xiangwu Zhang, xiangwu_zhang@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-6547
Traci Figura, traci_figura@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-6637


Visit: